Release 0.1 Lab 4 – second PR

The project that worked on this time for the second pull request was called TeacherFund. The goal of the project was to create a patreon type website for great teachers that go above and beyond to buy supplies that aren’t funded by the school, but through their own wallets.

This is a link to their github:
https://github.com/teacherfund/TeacherFund_next/pull/34

Dev Platform

The project is still relatively new so it was somewhat friendly for newcomers trying to get into open source. In order to understand the structure of the project, I needed some React knowledge.

The interesting part of this experience was that I was taking a look at the existing issues and noticed the “first-good-bug” tag. So I decided to build the project and take a look at what was happening. I analyzed the website and then came across this switcher button.

My initial reaction was this:

Image result for NANI red eyes
NANI meme

The text was white and camouflaged itself in the white background! So I went straight to github and filed an issue, but at the same time making a pull request for my change to hard code the text to black.

The next day I received two replies from the maintainers of the project asking to create a prop field so that users could just send the color from the parent component. Now, to be honest, I suck at doing CSS as it’s one my weakness and trouble reading for the most part. But, with quick researching, I made the changes he requested and pushed up my changes once again to have it approved.

What did I learn about this experience? Learning the difference between state and props, but most importantly, don’t be afraid to put up an issue.

See you in the next blog.

Leave a comment